The Mystery of Christ

Posted: March 15, 2011 in Uncategorized

Almost one week into Lent and I’m sure it is getting tough. This is about the time most people give up. I have some thoughts for us.

I have been in the process of finishing my degree at Multnomah University in Portland. Recently I was in a class on the Gospels and the main focus was the gospel of Matthew. It just so happens it is one of my favorite books in the bible.

Last night we were in the final week of Jesus’ life and I saw something I had never seen before or at least haven’t seen in a while.  I saw a profound sense of humanity in Jesus. Before you go ringing the alarms of heresy it’s pretty clear in scripture Jesus was fully God but also fully man. We often focus on the fully God part as if he is out of our reach and unattainable.

In the last days of Jesus life he faced the betrayal of one of his closest friends who sold him to the authorities for the price of a slave, he faced the knowledge of the pain and suffering of the cross, and he faced the fact that all of his closest friends deserted him as he hung on the cross.

Have you ever been betrayed? Have you ever been deserted? Have you ever faced immense pain on your own?

I have.

There is comfort in the reality that Jesus faced the same things and yet remained true to his mission, the salvation of the world.

When we are lost, alone, afraid, our natural tendency is to run from Jesus. He is big enough to handle the crisis. He is big enough to handle the pain, anguish, sorrow, and anger. He went through it too.
This leads me to the season of Lent. As we dive headlong into Lent may we see, as it is written in Hebrews 4:14-16 “Therefore, since we have a great high priest who has ascended into heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to the faith we profess. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to empathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet he did not sin. Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

This is the time to remember this mystery that our great high priest, Jesus, is with us. As we are seeking repentance and returning to Jesus may we remember it is because of HIS faithfulness, HIS life, and HIS sacrifice.

He’s worth repenting and returning to!

Comments
  1. Susan says:

    I love that part of the scripture where it says, Let us approach Gods throne of grace with confidence…I find myself with no other options but that. It is a daily challenge for me,but also rewarding everyday. Thank you for reminding me!!

Leave a comment